Steve Hansen Memorial Scholarship Fund

Photo of Steve Hansen Steve Hansen was a brilliant educator who taught thousands of students in Wisconsin about the importance of renewable energy, environmental sustainability, and earth stewardship. His creativity, energy, and compassion inspired all of us to be better people. The Steve Hansen Memorial Scholarship Fund has been established to honor his spirit and memory, and to help the next generation carry on his important work. It is designed to assist students who are interested in attending college, technical college, or other training courses to study renewable energy, energy efficiency, or sustainable living topics.

Scholarship Guidelines
Scholarships are awarded to students who reside in the Midwest (WI, MN, MI, IA, IL, IN, OH, MO). Students should possess a clear goal of desiring to make her or his community, environment, or world a better and more sustainable place to live. Students should be able to show prior interest and or education in the field.

Criteria for awarding scholarships is based on student motivation, enthusiasm, and commitment. GPA and scholarship will be considered, but are not the deciding factor. High school students, college students, and non-traditional students are invited to apply. Scholarships are typically set at $500, and will be sent directly to the college in the student's name.

Application Process
Applications are due to the MREA by April 15 of each year. Click here to download an application form and procedure.

Donate to the Scholarship Fund
Do you believe in renewable energy, environmental sustainability, and earth stewardship? If so, please aid us in supporting our future installers, engineers, educators, policy makers, naturalists, builders, and others who will shape the prospects of these fields. Consider giving $28 in honor of our 28th Annual Energy Fair, but a donation of any amount makes a significant difference. Donate today.

Scholarship Recipients:

2017 Scholarship Recipients: TBA 


Past Recipients

2016 - Tracey Tyler - Northeast Wisconsin Tech College, Solar Energy Technologies and Energy Management.
2016 - Lee Gill - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Electrical Engineering.

2015 - Caitlin Joseph - Tufts University, Urban & Environmental Policy and Planning.
2015 - Reva Ogle - Ball State University, Architecture. 
2014 - Jenny Haywood - Colby Community College, Sustainable and Renewable Energies.
2014 - Brock Rainville - Mid-State Technical College, Renewable Energy Specialist.
2013 - Tyler Anderson - Iowa Wesleyan College, Renewable Energy.
2013 - Chelsea Johnson - Lawrence University, English & Environmental Studies.
2013 - Adam Rutkowski, Carleton College, Physics.
2012 - Alix Kermes, University of Florida, Sustainable Studies.
2012 - Kira Minehart, Stanford, Environmental Engineering.
2012 - Leah Jaynes, Northland College, Environmental Engineering.
2011 - Brad Willems, UW Milwaukee, Urban Geography.
2011 - Jennifer Pletz, UW Milwaukee, Atmospheric Sciences.
2011 - Tamas Peterson, St. Olaf College, Math/Physics/Computer Sciences.
2011 - William C. Meadows - Lawrence University, Environmental Studies
2010 - Mashebe Subulwa, MidState Technical College, Renewable Energy Technician.
2010 - Emily Campion, Illinois State University, Renewable Energy program.
2010 - Geoffrey Chushman, Madison Area Technical College, Electrical Engineering Technology.
2009 - Holden Flaig, MidState Technical College, Renewable Energy Technician.
2009 - Lauren Knapp, Illinois State University, Renewable Energy, Economics, and Public Policy.
2008 - Jesse Bremer,Iowa Lakes Community College, Estherville Iowa, Wind Energy and Turbine Technology.
2008 - Marcus Grignon, College of Menominee Nation, Keshena, WI, double major in Tribal Legal Studies and Sustainable Development.
2008 - Justin Presny, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay, Environmental Sciences and Environmental Engineering.
2007 - Sydney Nick, Allegheny College, Meadville Pennsylvania, Environmental Science.
2007 - Anthony Roeschlein, Minnesota West Community and Technical College, Canby Minnesota, Wind Energy Technology.
2006 -Siena Lang, UW-Madison, Environmental Science Certificate program.

How Else Can You Get Involved with MREA?:

Good news! Along with your contribution there are many other ways to support the MREA.